Volkan Oezdemir vs. Ilir Latifi Rescheduled for UFC on ESPN 5 in Newark

By Tristen Critchfield Jun 25, 2019


A light heavyweight clash between Volkan Oezdemir and Ilir Latifi has been rebooked for UFC on ESPN 5.

The Las Vegas-based promotion announced the matchup on Tuesday. Oezdemir and Latifi were initially slated to meet at UFC Stockholm on June 1 before Latifi withdrew from the contest due to a back injury.

Latifi last appeared at UFC 232, where he lost a unanimous decision to Corey Anderson. The 35-year-old Swede had won five of his previous six fights before that defeat. After skyrocketing to title contention in 2017, Oezdemir has lost three straight, including a split-decision setback against Dominick Reyes in his most recent outing at UFC Fight Night 147.



UFC Newark takes place at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J., on Aug. 3 and is headlined by a welterweight tilt pitting Colby Covington against Robbie Lawler. The main card airs on ESPN at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT, while prelims air on ESPN at noon ET/9 a.m. PT.

Several other bouts were also announced for the card: Joaquim Silva vs. Nasrat Haqparast at lightweight; Lauren Murphy vs. Mara Romero Borella at flyweight; Antonina Shevchenko vs. Lucie Pudilova at flyweight; Trevin Giles vs. Gerald Meerschaert at middleweight; Darko Stosic vs. Kennedy Nzechukwu at light heavyweight; Ramazan Emeev vs. Claudio Henrique da Silva at welterweight and Scott Holtzman vs. Dong Hyun Ma at lightweight.

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>