How to Watch UFC 247 ‘Jones vs. Reyes’

By Brian Knapp Feb 7, 2020
Listen to "Roundtable: UFC 247 'Jones v. Reyes'" on Spreaker.


The ordering process for Ultimate Fighting Championship pay-per-views has changed: UFC 247 is only available on ESPN+ in the U.S.

A title doubleheader at UFC 247 on Saturday will trumpet the Ultimate Fighting Championship’s return to Houston, as Jon Jones defends his lightweight belt against the undefeated Dominick Reyes in the headliner and Valentina Shevchenko risks her women’s flyweight crown against Katlyn Chookagian in the co-main event.

Jones has pieced together a three-fight winning streak since his technical knockout of archrival Daniel Cormier was overturned to a no-contest due to failed drug test in 2017. The 32-year-old Jackson-Wink MMA representative last fought at UFC 239, where he appeared vulnerable at times in a split decision victory over Thiago Santos on July 6. Jones owns a resume with which few can compete, highlighted by wins over Cormier, Alexander Gustafsson (twice), Glover Teixeira, Vitor Belfort, Rashad Evans, Lyoto Machida, Quinton Jackson, Mauricio Rua and Ryan Bader. He has compiled a 19-1 record since joining the UFC roster more than a decade ago, a December 2009 disqualification loss to Matt Hamill the only blemish.

Anchored at the Cage Combat Academy in California, Reyes on Oct. 18 vaulted into the No. 1 contender seat by wiping out former middleweight champion Chris Weidman in the UFC on ESPN 6 main event. “The Devastator” has thus far lived up to his moniker, as he has delivered nine of his 12 career victories by knockout, technical knockout or submission.

The UFC 246 “Jones vs. Reyes” main card—which streams live to ESPN+ pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT—will also feature a featherweight clash pitting Mirsad Bektic against Dan Ige and a pair of heavyweight battles, as Juan Adams meets Justin Tafa and Derrick Lewis confronts Ilir Latifi. ESPN (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT) and UFC Fight Pass (6:15 ET/3:15 PT) will share coverage of the seven-fight undercard.

A closer look at the UFC 247 “Jones vs. Reyes” particulars:

THE LINEUP

205: Jon Jones vs. Dominick Reyes
125: Valentina Shevchenko vs. Katlyn Chookagian
265: Juan Adams vs. Justin Tafa
145: Mirsad Bektic vs. Dan Ige
265: Derrick Lewis vs. Ilir Latifi
185: Trevin Giles vs. Antonio Arroyo
170: Alex Morono vs. Kalinn Williams
125: Andrea Lee vs. Lauren Murphy
135: Miles Johns vs. Mario Bautista
135: Journey Newson vs. Domingo Pilarte
135: Andre Ewell vs. Jonathan Martinez
145: Austin Lingo vs. Youssef Zalal

THE RUNDOWN

Preview
Weigh-in Report
10 Fights to Watch in February
Pre-Fight Stock Report
Opinion: The Danger of Low Expectations


Related Coverage »
Sherdog’s Official Mixed Martial Arts Rankings
Sherdog.com’s WMMA Pound-for-Pound Top 10
Sherdog.com’s Pound-for-Pound Top 10
Advertisement

Comments

Comments powered by Disqus
<h2>Fight Finder</h2>