UFC Fight Night ‘Holloway vs. Kattar’ Main Card to Be Simulcast on ABC, ESPN+

By Tristen Critchfield Jan 4, 2021


More information has emerged regarding the Ultimate Fighting Championship’s broadcast plans with ABC.

According to a release, the main card of the UFC Fight Night event scheduled for Jan. 16 will be simulcast on both ABC and ESPN+ beginning at 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT. Immediately prior, the preliminary draw will stream exclusively on ESPN+ at noon ET/9 a.m. PT.

Reports of the UFC’s move to ABC first emerged in late December. Details regarding future broadcast plans with ABC have not been revealed, however.

“We are excited to collaborate with ABC to televise the first UFC event of 2021, and the first-ever live UFC event on the ABC network,” said ESPN executive vice president of programming and original content Burke Magnus.  “UFC ‘Fight Island’ has captured the excitement and imagination of sports fans worldwide and what better way to start the year than by simulcasting the main card of UFC Fight Night ‘Holloway vs. Kattar’ on ESPN+ and ABC.”

UFC Fight Night, also known as UFC on ABC 1, takes place at the Flash Forum on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi and is headlined by a featherweight showdown between Max Holloway and Calvin Kattar. The bout order and main card lineup for the event has not been formally revealed, but it will mark the promotion’s first-ever appearance on ABC and its first network television broadcast since UFC on Fox 31 on Dec. 15, 2018.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>