A Linear History: UFC Light Heavyweight Championship

By Mike Fridley and Brian Knapp Apr 27, 2012
Since the birth of the Ultimate Fighting Championship in 1993, 11 different men have held the light heavyweight championship. The duration of their reigns ranges from Randy Couture’s 127 days to Tito Ortiz’s 1,260 days. Amazingly, only one of those 11 champions has successfully defended the title at least five times and five of them failed to retain it even once, making it one of the more volatile divisions from a historical standpoint.

Sherdog.com has compiled an infographic which chronicles the journey of the UFC light heavyweight championship, beginning with Frank Shamrock in December 1997 -- it was then recognized as the middleweight crown -- and running through current titleholder Jon Jones.

<h2>Fight Finder</h2>